everyday

i wish you
were here today
it’s the same thing
i think everyday

to see your face
in the morning
to kiss you goodbye
to hug you after work
when i feel like
i might cry

to slow dance
in the bedroom
when it starts to get dark
to see you smile
at my silly
offhanded remarks

to snuggle on the couch
during the evenings
turned cold
to stare at you and picture
you and me
when we’re old

having you there
to whisper my dream to
when i wake up in the night
to have you hold me
and kiss me
and tell me everything is alright

these day to day things
that we have to
miss out on
these sweet
little things
that help us to bond

i’m craving them
and the comfort
they bring me
the absence of which
can, at times
feel crippling

so i wish you
were here today
just like i do
everyday

Leave a comment

Filed under all, longing, love and stuff

Leave a Reply

